The Scottish Health Awards are the most prestigious and recognised awards for those working across NHS Scotland and its partners to deliver high quality health and social care services to the people of Scotland.

These awards recognise and celebrate the contribution of those who work in frontline health and social care, shining a light on those who work so hard behind the scenes in support roles to provide sustainable high quality health services for the people of Scotland
Increasingly, health and social care services are being delivered in an integrated way focusing on prevention, anticipation and supported self-management and the awards aim to recognise this approach.

This year’s ceremony took place on Thursday 14 November at the Corn Exchange in Edinburgh. Congratulations to all the finalists and winners in each category. All winners are listed below:

  • Support Worker Award
    Lauren Templeman, CAMHS Kirkman Clinic, NHS Fife
  • Innovation Award
    The Intelligent Liver Function Testing (iLFT) Team, Multidisciplinary Team across Primary and Secondary Care, NHS Tayside
  • Volunteers Award
    Anne Marie Kennedy MBE, Community Transport East Renfrewshire, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde – Your Wee Red Bus, East Renfrewshire Health and Social Care Partnership
  • Optometrist Award
    Dr. Scott Mackie, Mackie Opticians, Lanarkshire, NHS Lanarkshire
  • Midwife Award
    Ann Allan, Ayrshire Central Hospital, NHS Ayrshire and Arran
  • Therapist Award 
    Helen Scott, Amputee Rehabilitation, Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, Glasgow, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
  • Young Achiever Award
    Harvé Symonds, Auxiliary Nurse, Balfour Hospital, NHS Orkney
  • Unsung Hero Award
    Tony McLaren, Breathing Space, Caledonia House, Glasgow, NHS 24
  • Care for Mental Health Award
    National Distress Brief Intervention Programme Team, University Hospital Wishaw, NHS Lanarkshire
  • Integrated Care Award
    Care at Home Pharmacy Technician Service Team, Eglinton House, Ayr, NHS Ayrshire and Arran
  • Healthier Lifestyle Award
    Wendy Handley, Falkirk Community Hospital, NHS Forth Valley
  • Leader of the Year Award
    Dr. Erica Peters, Consultant in Infectious Diseases, Gartnaval General Hospital, Glasgow, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
  • Nurse Award
    Alison Irvine, Diabetes Nurse Specialist, Gilbert Bain Hospital, Shetland, NHS Shetland
  • Doctor Award
    Dr. Howard Kennedy, Newcastleton Medical Practice, Roxburghshire, NHS Borders
  • Top Team Award
    Theatres Reception Team, Royal Hospital for Children, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
  • Global Citizenship Award
    Julius Kofi Serebour Donkor, Cardiac Physiologist, Aberdeen Royal Infirmary, NHS Grampian
  • Dentist Award 
    Jordan Bain, Atlas Road Dental Practice, Glasgow, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

More information on the Scottish Health Awards 2020 will be available in due course.