The Scottish Health Awards are the most prestigious and recognised awards for those working across NHS Scotland and its partners to deliver high quality health and social care services to the people of Scotland. The awards are now well established in the Scottish calendar and recognise those that go that extra mile to improve the health and wellbeing of others.

Scottish Health Awards 2021 – Finalists Announced!

Congratulations to all of this year’s finalists and winners. The 20th Scottish Health Awards took place in person for the first time since 2019. The ceremony, which took place at the O2 Academy in Edinburgh, was filled with celebration and the winners were delighted to collect their awards from Humza Yousaf, Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Care.  

The judges found it extremely difficult to select the winners from such strong nominations and incredible stories – each demonstrating outstanding achievements from the individuals and teams who have worked so hard during such challenging times.

For your chance to watch all of this year’s winners receive their well-deserved awards, the full ceremony can now be viewed on the Scottish Health Awards website. Please take this opportunity to celebrate with all our worthy winners.

Please see below for a list of this year’s winners:

Support Worker

Sponsored by Unison Lothian

Angela Shaw, NHS Lanarkshire


Sponsored by NHS Research Scotland & SHIL

Scottish Mesothelioma Network


Heartstart Projects in Argyll and Clyde, Argyll & Bute Social Health Care Partnerships


Sponsored by Royal College of Midwives

Orkney Midwives, NHS Orkney

Allied Health Professional

Jane Allison, NHS Borders

Young Achiever

Lisa Walker, NHS National Services Scotland

Unsung Hero

Nabeel Arshad, NHS National Services Scotland

Care for Mental Health

The Psychological Resilience Group, NHS Grampian

Integrated Care

Coatbridge Living Well in the Community Team, NHS Lanarkshire

Tackling Health Inequalities

Sponsored by the Scottish Government

Amma Birth Companions, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Leader of the Year 

Sponsored by NHS Education for Scotland

Maureen Firth, NHS Orkney


Sponsored by Unison Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Eleanor Grant, NHS Lanarkshire


Dr Gourab Choudhury, NHS Lothian

Top Team

Sponsored by Unison Scotland

Harlawhill Day Care Centre

Global Citizenship

Stuart Watson, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

People’s Choice Award

Sponsored by Alpha Solway

Homeless Health and Asylum Service, Glasgow City Health & Social Care Partnership

Huge congratulations to all the winners. For further information on all of this year’s winners, please visit the Scottish Health Awards website.