We’re delighted to announce this year’s finalists for the Scottish Health Awards.  With over 900 nominations received, it was an incredibly difficult job for the judges to select the individuals and teams who have made it to the final stage.   

The outstanding level of commitment, care and compassion demonstrated in this year’s nominations has been incredible, with many of our health and social care workers going that extra mile to deliver much needed care to individuals during another challenging year. 

This year’s finalists are as follows: 

Support Worker Award sponsored by UNISON NHS Lothian Branch  

  • Wayne Allen, NHS Tayside 

  • Michelle Brownlee, NHS Borders 

  • Euan Grant, East Ayrshire Council, Southern Locality Team 

Volunteers Award sponsored by Newcross Health Solutions 

  • Fiona Laing, Scottish Ambulance Service 

  • Julie McGourty, NHS Lothian 

  • Georgie Williams, NHS Tayside 

Innovation Award sponsored by School of Health Sciences, University of Dundee  

  • Douglas Bell, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde 

  • Pogo Digital Healthcare, Chest Heart & Stroke Scotland, and NHS Lothian 

  • Stroke Precision Medicine Team, NHS Tayside 

Midwife Award sponsored by Royal College of Midwives 

  • Jane Howie, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde 

  • Olivia Jones, NHS Orkney 

  • Lynn Young, NHS Dumfries & Galloway 

Paramedic Award sponsored by Glasgow Caledonian University, School of Health and Life Sciences 

  • Lynn Henderson, Scottish Ambulance Service 

  • Scott McKeating, Scottish Ambulance Service 

  • Lee Myers, Scottish Ambulance Service 

Allied Health Professional Award sponsored by Robert Gordon University 

  • Claire Dolan, NHS Dumfries & Galloway 

  • Pierette Melville, NHS Fife 

  • Paulina Raniszewska, Covid Rehab Team, NHS Lanarkshire 

Integrated Care Award sponsored by Imprivata 

  • Huntington's Disease Integrated Care Team, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde 

  • Major Trauma Team, NHS Borders 

  • South Lanarkshire HSCP Community Nurses, NHS Lanarkshire 

Care for Mental Health Award sponsored by Edinburgh Napier University, School of Health and Social Care 

  • Claire Bashford, NHS Lothian 

  • Marchburn Ward, East Ayrshire Community Hospital, NHS Ayrshire & Arran 

  • Maternity and Neonatal Psychological Interventions , NHS Lothian 

Tackling Health Inequalities Award sponsored by Scottish Government  

  • Amma Birth Companions, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde 

  • Claire Dinning, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde 

  • Edinburgh Community Link Worker Network, Edinburgh Health & Social Care Partnership 

Unsung Hero Award sponsored by DrDoctor 

  • Michael Kidd, Scottish Ambulance Service 

  • Elaine Muir, NHS Tayside 

  • Olga Szelemej, NHS National Services Scotland 

Doctor Award sponsored by British Medical Association 

  • Dr Joanna Bowden, NHS Fife 

  • Dr Kerri Davidson, NHS Fife 

  • Dr Colm McCarthy, NHS Borders 

Global Citizenship Award sponsored by Public Health Scotland 

  • Dr Mudher Al-Khairalla, NHS Tayside 

  • Dr Andrew Blaikie, NHS Fife  

  • Dr Wendy McMullen on behalf of MALSCOT team, NHS Tayside 

Nurse Award sponsored by Unison Greater Glasgow & Clyde 

  • Maggie Clark, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde  

  • Fiona Cruickshanks, NHS Highland 

  • Angela Thomson, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde  

Leader of the Year Award sponsored by Glasgow Caledonian University, Research Centre for Health 

  • Derek Kennedy, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde 

  • Janice McClymont, NHS Lanarkshire 

  • Dave Rigby, NHS Western Isles  

Top Team Award sponsored by UNISON Scotland Health Committee 

  • Haematology Team, NHS Dumfries & Galloway 

  • Lothian Green Theatres Anaesthetists Team, NHS Lothian 

  • Ward 4, Forth Valley Royal Hospital, NHS Forth Valley 

People’s Choice 75th Anniversary Award sponsored by Alpha Solway 

  • Annette Heary, NHS Lothian 

  • Janice McClymont, NHS Lanarkshire 

  • Jackie McKechnie, NHS Lanarkshire 

  • Alan McMillan, Scottish Ambulance Service 

  • Christine Thompson, NHS Lothian 

  • Julie Walker, NHS Highland 

All winners will be announced on Thursday 2 November at the awards ceremony in Edinburgh 

For further information about the Scottish Health Awards, visit the website